Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News: Note: You are currently viewing the archives. To join the active discussions, go to http://www.woodworkslive.com/
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Aspen lumber  (Read 6839 times)
Mike in Leduc

« on: December 28, 2006, 10:15:39 PM »

Has anyone got something to say, good or bad, about Aspen lumber and what it's like to mill or work with?
I was looking for some Poplar for a couple of projects that are currently in the drawing stage and I can't find any where it's convenient to get to. There is a supplier in Edmonton that sells that product but they're open from 8 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. Monday to Friday and I work from 7 A.M. to 5:30 P.M. so that supplier is out of the question.
There is another supplier who has Aspen (he says it's just like Poplar) but I have no experience with that wood and I figured someone here must have used it and cussed at it.

Discuss all alternatives with your wife, then do it her way!
C. John Hebert
Global Moderator

« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2006, 05:59:58 AM »

I did like you 10 yr or so ago when this crap showed up in Atlanta suppliers. I asked, and asked asked and got a reply that use that stuff because it's fast growing so it's easy replenishable for lumber companies. He uses it for fence post and laughed because even for that it isn't very good, but cheap. With no solid advice except what some quoted from books, or some cute little box...........no experience building a cabinet of any dimension so? With that looked like I was gona be a guinea pig and boy was I ever.